I blame Meryl for my lavender ice-cream obsession:/ Plus Lavender as medicine.


RJ Chicago

“Freedom is not worth having if it does not connote freedom to err and even to sin.” “From every mountainside, let freedom ring!” —Martin Luther King Jr. Isaiah 61:1~ (The Promise)


Lavender is one of my favourite herbs and plants. I am so obsessed with lavender and all its therapeutic benefits that I have spent serious hours researching how I can grow lavender in cold Chicago. I found out there are people growing lavender in the English countryside and even in Chicago! So I was encouraged to continue to understand how I can have my own lavender field at home one day. I love everything about the plant. The Aroma, the colour, the soft velvet texture and just how beautiful lavender plants are whether they are in a bunch or alone. They make beautiful aromatic interior plants and exterior.

But this is about my Lavender ice cream obsession. Today is the day I make some of you equally obsessed with it so I’m not alone anymore. ~

I can’t remember when my obsession started. But I time it back to watching the movie “It’s Complicated” with Meryl Streep. I truly blame her. She was the one who put the idea in my head that I could enjoy lavender in more than just teas, oils and supplements.

So I can’t remember when I watched “It’s Complicated”, but I would watch anything by Meryl Streep. She is just a fantastic actress who brings to life every character she plays. A nod to Meryl Streep.

But when I watched the movie it was the very first time that I had heard of lavender ice cream and from then on I was just obsessed. So I thought I would share some recipes with people to make others equally obsessed. I love lavender. It is a herb in complimentary medicine that is used to soothe and help people relax. It can treat stress and sleeping disorders. Just a wiff of it and you feel like you are in a field or lavender, surrounded by bees and not a problem insight.

People use lavender when travelling too, in little room sprays or pillow sprays. Because travelling can be especially stressful and exhausting. I used to buy one by L’occitane. A Provincial French brand with a very strong preference for using natural plants and herbs like lavender.

Anyway. Here are a few recipes you can try. but if these don’t suit you, see if you can find another one online somewhere. Just remember to think of our “It’s Complicated” interview as you enjoy it. I think lavender ice cream would be great for winter Christmas’ in Chicago too. So don’t be afraid to try it to surprise your guests or take a lovely tub of it to a relations home. They will think you travelled to Provence and came back extra boosie or have been listening too much to me 🙂 Sorry. But you must try it and tell me how you go!

* Replace dairy with vegan options if you are lactose intolerant or vegan. There is a vegan option for everything under the sun now. So don’t struggle with a grumbly stomach just to enjoy food. Ps do people know that most black and Asian people are lactose intolerant. We genetically (as black people from Africa) lack the enzyme for digesting lactose. That’s why many of us struggle with drinking milk and eating large amounts of cheese and dairy products. Dairy yoghurt especially can be an issue.

LAVENDER AS MEDICINE

Even though this is my field of study and work (Naturopathy~integrative medicine), working with herbs and plants to facilitate healing. I can also often forget that there is a herbal option for almost any condition. Even I need to remind myself sometimes when I need help from nature. So it’s good for someone to remind you every now and again to go back to Mother Nature and see what nature can provide to help you heal.

If you are dealing with a lot of stress, or recovering from any kind of mental trauma including CPTSD (Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) try to incorporate some lavender into your routine. It has been scientifically proven to have the benefits of relaxation and benefits to your mental health. You can add some to your bath water via an oil or add it to a room spray or pillow spray. There are lavender teas, tinctures and even supplements. With lavender the options are endless.

Be Safe ~

But please do a skin test, if applying it topically to ensure you are not going to have an allergic reaction to the plant and always be cautious whenever you are applying any natural oil to the skin. Even though they are natural, they can still cause harm to some people and some oils are not intended to be used on the skin. Do a little bit of research on your oil before attempting to add it to your lotion, bath oil or massage oil so you get the right ratio and you know how to use them safely. Also go to a reliable online source, someone with some qualifications and expertise on the subject. But don’t be afraid to lean into more natural remedies ~ Of course, always check with your doctor if you have any concerns or you suffer from any chronic health condition or are on any medications because often mixing medications with some herbs can cause the medication to not work or may even cause you harm in other ways (when combining it orally). Topically, you are generally safe with a skin test. But again check with your doctor if ever you are unsure. It’s better to feel a little foolish asking than to jump in and suffer pain, discomfort or a negative reaction. This goes for any natural remedy you try. Research, ask your doctor, skin test and know what the contradictions are especially if pregnant, and trying to conceive or breastfeeding ~

Ps. Lavender can also be used as an antiseptic ;*.

  • MediHerb is of the highest quality but is available only through a qualified and licensed Naturopathic Doctor. (Because of the high-quality concentration, and as such inherent risks, a prescription will need to be provided by an ND) ~
  • Caution: I can not verify the quality or actions of the other products suggested here (other than MediHerb). You must consult your Doctor first if you need to verify their safety for your particular condition, especially if you are on medication, pregnant, breastfeeding or trying to conceive.

Lavender Chutney ~ By Pelindaba

*These posts are not sponsored, I simply love to share what I love and what makes me smile inside. But future partnerships may not be out of the question. ~

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started